Bourn wins second Gold Glove

Michael Bourn still has a way to go before he can be considered the greatest defensive outfielder to wear an Astros uniform, but he’s put himself in select company when it was announced Wednesday he had won his second consecutive National League Rawlings Gold Glove.

Bourn is only the fifth player in club history to win multiple Gold Gloves, joining third baseman Doug Rader, outfielder Cesar Cedeno, second baseman Craig Biggio and catcher Brad Ausmus. Bourn and Cedeno (1972-76) are the only Astros outfielders to win a Gold Glove.

“Michael’s second Gold Glove comes as no surprise to anyone who has watched him play,” general manager Ed Wade said. “You see the ball leave the bat, and you say, ‘No way that one gets caught,’ and then Michael runs it down. Some guys make plays look tougher than they are. Michael makes the impossible catch look routine. It’s nice to see his hard work get recognized.”

The speedster was all over center field at Minute Maid Park this season, running downs balls in gaps, charging towards the infield and making diving catches and scaling Tal’s Hill center. He also had eight outfield assists, which were tied for third in the NL among center fielders.

Bourn had a bushel of terrific catchers last season, perhaps none better than his long running catch in the fourth inning of a July 7 game against the Pirates. Bourn’s personal favorite was his over-the-shoulder catch at the Brewers on June 29, which robbed Jim Edmonds of a hit.

“There is no one more deserving than Michael,” Astros manager Brad Mills said. “Our fans get an opportunity to watch him each and every day, which is special. It’s so nice that he’s being recognized by the rest of the baseball world as well.”

Bourn, 27, posted a .992 fielding percentage in 2010, making just three errors in 370 total chances. Last week, Bourn was also recognized for his defensive excellence when he was named one of nine winners of the 2010 Fielding Bible Awards, which are selected annually by a panel of 10 baseball experts, including’s Peter Gammons and Bill James.

The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are voted on by National and American League managers and coaches, who are responsible for selecting the winners of their league prior to the conclusion of the regular season. Rawlings has been awarding Gold Gloves since 1957. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: