Will Bourn will his second Gold Glove?

The Rawlings Gold Glove winners for the National League will be announced at 2:30 p.m. CT today and I’d be shocked if Astros center fielder Michael Bourn didn’t win his second award in a row. Bourn did nothing to warrant not getting the award again after he ran all over Minute Maid Park and routinely made highlight-reel catches.

“Winning the first one is the hardest,” Bourn told me earlier this year.

I asked Bourn late in the season what he thought was his best catch of the season and he offered his twisting, over-the-shoulder catch against the Brewers on June 29 to rob Jim Edmonds. Watch it by clicking here.

My favorite is this long running catch against the Pirates on July 7. Click here to watch.

Those are just two of a long list of great catches made by Bourn this season — plays that should give him his second Gold Glove. 

Here is a list of previous Astros Gold Glove winners:

Cesar Cedeno, CF, 1972-76 (5)

Doug Rader, 3B, 1970-74 (5)

Craig Biggio, 2B, 1994-97 (4)

Brad Ausmus, C, 2001, 2002, 2006 (3)

Roger Metzger, SS, 1973 (1)

Jeff Bagwell, 1B, 1994 (1)

Michael Bourn, CF, 2009 (1)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: