Results tagged ‘ Gold Glove ’

Keuchel a Gold Glove finalist in AL

Astros starting pitcher Dallas Keuchel is one of three finalists at his position selected Thursday as a finalist for a Rawlings Gold Glove Award, joining Mark Buehrle of the Blue Jays and Felix Hernandez of the Mariners.

Keuchel, a left-hander, is vying to become the first Astros pitcher to win a Gold Glove and the first Astros player in the American League to receive the honor. Houston hasn’t had a Gold Glove winner since outfielder Michael Bourn won his second in a row in the National League in 2010.

According to FanGraphs, Keuchel led Major League pitchers with 10 defensive runs saved compared to the average player at his position.

The winners will be revealed at 6 p.m. CT Nov. 4 on ESPN2.

The award is based 75 percent on input from AL managers and coaches and 25 percent on defensive metrics. As many as seven personnel per team may vote for the award, but voters are prohibited from selecting someone from their own team.

Buehrle is a four-time Gold Glove winner (2009-11 in AL, ’12 in the NL).

Bourn wins second Gold Glove

Michael Bourn still has a way to go before he can be considered the greatest defensive outfielder to wear an Astros uniform, but he’s put himself in select company when it was announced Wednesday he had won his second consecutive National League Rawlings Gold Glove.

Bourn is only the fifth player in club history to win multiple Gold Gloves, joining third baseman Doug Rader, outfielder Cesar Cedeno, second baseman Craig Biggio and catcher Brad Ausmus. Bourn and Cedeno (1972-76) are the only Astros outfielders to win a Gold Glove.

“Michael’s second Gold Glove comes as no surprise to anyone who has watched him play,” general manager Ed Wade said. “You see the ball leave the bat, and you say, ‘No way that one gets caught,’ and then Michael runs it down. Some guys make plays look tougher than they are. Michael makes the impossible catch look routine. It’s nice to see his hard work get recognized.”

The speedster was all over center field at Minute Maid Park this season, running downs balls in gaps, charging towards the infield and making diving catches and scaling Tal’s Hill center. He also had eight outfield assists, which were tied for third in the NL among center fielders.

Bourn had a bushel of terrific catchers last season, perhaps none better than his long running catch in the fourth inning of a July 7 game against the Pirates. Bourn’s personal favorite was his over-the-shoulder catch at the Brewers on June 29, which robbed Jim Edmonds of a hit.

“There is no one more deserving than Michael,” Astros manager Brad Mills said. “Our fans get an opportunity to watch him each and every day, which is special. It’s so nice that he’s being recognized by the rest of the baseball world as well.”

Bourn, 27, posted a .992 fielding percentage in 2010, making just three errors in 370 total chances. Last week, Bourn was also recognized for his defensive excellence when he was named one of nine winners of the 2010 Fielding Bible Awards, which are selected annually by a panel of 10 baseball experts, including’s Peter Gammons and Bill James.

The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are voted on by National and American League managers and coaches, who are responsible for selecting the winners of their league prior to the conclusion of the regular season. Rawlings has been awarding Gold Gloves since 1957. 

Will Bourn will his second Gold Glove?

The Rawlings Gold Glove winners for the National League will be announced at 2:30 p.m. CT today and I’d be shocked if Astros center fielder Michael Bourn didn’t win his second award in a row. Bourn did nothing to warrant not getting the award again after he ran all over Minute Maid Park and routinely made highlight-reel catches.

“Winning the first one is the hardest,” Bourn told me earlier this year.

I asked Bourn late in the season what he thought was his best catch of the season and he offered his twisting, over-the-shoulder catch against the Brewers on June 29 to rob Jim Edmonds. Watch it by clicking here.

My favorite is this long running catch against the Pirates on July 7. Click here to watch.

Those are just two of a long list of great catches made by Bourn this season — plays that should give him his second Gold Glove. 

Here is a list of previous Astros Gold Glove winners:

Cesar Cedeno, CF, 1972-76 (5)

Doug Rader, 3B, 1970-74 (5)

Craig Biggio, 2B, 1994-97 (4)

Brad Ausmus, C, 2001, 2002, 2006 (3)

Roger Metzger, SS, 1973 (1)

Jeff Bagwell, 1B, 1994 (1)

Michael Bourn, CF, 2009 (1)